Confessions of a Cool Kid


It’s Easy Being Green!
April 10, 2009, 5:02 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Last Sunday I wormed Snowy with Zimectrin Gold because she was due for wormer. Right after I wormed her she had an allergic reaction to it. Her lip got really swollen and puffy in the exact area that I wormed her at. It was so strange. My trainer called the vet, and then vet said not to use Zimectrin Gold anymore because a lot of horses at the barn have been having these same kind of reacions. I thought it was really weird because none of the other horses have ever had a problem with it, and I’m sure Snowy has used it before during the wormer rotation. I definitely won’t use that kind again though.

I just got back from a three day long trip to Seabrook Island with my school. We went to St. Christopher’s. It was like an environmental camp. We learned all about the importance of being going green. It was fun! I got to hold a snake and pet an alligator. We went seining and caught some silver fish, anchovies, and a crab. It was so freezing and the wind was blowing extremely hard, but I still got in the water. Later that day we learned about the different eco systems at St. Christopher’s. We went on a mud trail that led to a very muddy mud pit. It was so deep, thick, and muddy, but it was super fun. I got so dirty, but it was worth it. After we went into the mud pit we ran into the esturary to wash off. I had so much fun there.

But back to something more remotley about horses. I was worried about Snowy’s lip while I was on the trip, but when I went to see her she was fine. Compared to the freezing weather at St. Chistopher’s, the weather was so lovely outside I couln’t resist a ride. I didn’t jump today, but rather worked on the flat.

We warmed up longer than usual at the walk because we went directly into the canter. I was trying to switch things up to keep it interesting for Snowy. We worked on circles and the like while cantering. I asked for the counter canter, and the first time I asked she picked it up and staying on it until I asked her for the change, I was so proud. After cantering I went to the trot and worked one side and then the other. Snowy and I are also practicing our turn on the forehands and turn on the haunches. There is more then likely going to be a turn on the forehand in our equitation pattern at the 4-H State Show, so we are trying to hoan our skills at it. This year I’m going to do halter and showmanship as well as the hunter, equitation, and flat classes at the 4-H State Show.

2892_153680495570_808605570_6459661_1898527_n

Towards the end of the ride I did some no hands riding. Snowy is very good about turing and stopping with just my leg and seat, and she didn’t dissapoint me today. We even got a flying lead change while riding with no hands. Despite how lazy she is, she is very sensative and responsive, I ride her with mostly leg and seat anyway because she doesn’t need a constrictive hold on her reins.

sdf1

After I had finished riding, my friend and I decided to ride the horses down the road to the local feed store to buy some bags of horse treats. It is just a few houses down from the barn, and they sell these big ziploc bags of horse treats for just a dollar, so I like to stock up! When we got there the lady was just closing up the shop. We’ll have to ride down there in the next few days and get some.  Here are some videos of my ride today.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

